Stand Tall, Even When You Feel Knocked Down

Turn your face stubbornly to the light, and keep it there.

Elizabeth Gilbert

I’ve had several people in the last few days tell me I am brave for traveling amidst all the chaos in the world.

And to that I say; it is everywhere, and cannot be stopped. I thought for a brief moment after hearing about such a terrible tragedy that maybe I would be safe if I was to just stay where I am, just as those people thought when they were celebrating who they are, proudly. Never in a million years would they have thought their lives would be taken in vain. But the hate is there. It is next door, in nightclubs, on buses, trains, New York City landmarks, the streets of Europe, the synagogues in Israel, the gay streets, the straight streets, and the list goes on. It was Martin Luther King who said, “darkness cannot drive out darkness, only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate, only love can do that.”

So, the question is, will we live in fear or will we live our lives? I couldn’t think of a better way to drive out hate with love than in Israel. It is a place where I will be surrounded by a sense of unity, faith, triumph, perseverance, strength, hope, but most of all, G-d’s grace. I cannot think of a better way to celebrate life than that.

To those who are grieving, who suffered the pain of losing a loved one, or just experience it every time you turn on the news, let the light of life do its job and touch your heart.
My thoughts and prayers are with you. I hear them. G-d hears them.

I will be sending you all the love and light your aching hearts need!

Leave a Reply

